End Here (?)

So… fellow travellers… you have been on this long journey with me now for 3-ish years and nearly 140 reviews; often agreeing with me, sometimes not, and above all offering your own wonderful perspectives and passionate insights. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

imagesAnd not unlike Monty Python’s Knights of the Round Table, having arrived at the Gorge of Eternal Peril, there are three questions… no four questions… five… no six questions, that we must answer “ere the other side we see“. So I present the following as settlements of debt to the most important questions in New Order fandom.

But before I do, here’s how I feel about the whole damn thing…

New Order – whether it be Sumner / Hook / Morris, Sumner / Hook / Morris / Gilbert, Sumner / Hook / Morris / Cunningham, or Sumner / Morris / Gilbert / Cunningham / Chapman – have produced in no uncertain terms the most incredible music of the last 40 years. A unique vision: overcast themes arcing across sky-blue vistas of alternative electronic rock, forged in Manchester and exported to the world, connecting with the alternative-minded as well as the club-centric, the football fan and the artist, the boffin and the aesthete. I’m in there somewhere, as I expect are all of you! They scored a bullseye with my 1985-self and have never let go, and now the music of New Order is part of my soul.

Their journey has been astonishing: the genesis of Warsaw, the beauty and permanence of Joy Division, the rise (and fall) of Factory Records, the assimilation of New York and Düsseldorf, the rise (and fall) of The Haçienda, the modernity of Peter Saville, the revitalisation of Manchester, their top-class manager(s), BeMusic, Electronic, Revenge, The Other Two, Monaco, Bad Lieutenant, their lack of pretense, their tragic losses, their unholy messes, their remarkable resilience, and… last but not least… their astounding, magnificent music. For all of these reasons no other band can hold a candle to New Order. Not one.

 

NB: What follows is strictly in my honest opinion.

What are New Order’s best songs?

Here are my 5-star rated tracks in chronological order, with my personal top-10 highlighted. Many of them are life-changing. All of them are perfect.

Best single: True Faith b/w 1963.

…if I were to pick just one all-time favourite it would be All Day Long. No… Your Silent Face. No… Temptation. Damn, don’t ask me that one, suffice to say if its epic then I’m there.

If you include those I rated at 4.5 stars, then add:

Combined, all of these tracks form one hell of a best-of list; so much so that I offer a corresponding Spotify play list for your convenience 🙂

Go on, give me your top-10 and see if you can pick just one.

What is New Order’s best album?

After crunching my review ratings various ways, I’ve arrived at the following album premiere league, and thankfully my heart agrees with my head:

pcl

  1. Power Corruption & Lies
  2. Technique
  3. Music Complete
  4. Low Life
  5. Republic
  6. Waiting For The Sirens’ Call
  7. Brotherhood
  8. Movement
  9. Get Ready
  10. Lost Sirens

You can choose to include Substance in the list (although its a compilation), in which case it reigns supreme.

Best live album: ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) New Order + Liam Gillick: So it goes..

What are New Order’s best remixes?

  • Academic (Mark Reeder’s Akademix)
  • Bizarre Love Triangle (Richard X Remix Full Length)
  • Blue Monday-95 (Hardfloor Mix)
  • Confusion (Koma and Bones Version)
  • Crystal (Lee Coombs Remix)
  • Everything’s Gone Green (Martin Buttrich Remix)
  • Fine Time (Silk Mix)
  • The Game (Mark Reeder Spielt Mit Version)
  • Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Bill Hamel Vocal Mix)
  • Krafty (DJ Dan Vocal Remix)
  • People On the High Line (Hybrid Remix)
  • People On the High Line (Planet Funk Remix)
  • Plastic (Extended Mix)
  • Regret (Fire Island Mix)
  • Restless (RAC Mix)
  • Round & Round (Twelve Inch Mix)
  • Ruined In A Day (Reunited In A Day Remix)
  • Singularity (JS Zeiter Remix)
  • Spooky (Magimix)
  • Temptation (Secret Machines Remix)
  • True Dub
  • True Faith (King Roc Mix)
  • Tutti Frutti (Hallo Halo Remix)
  • Tutti Frutti (Takkyu Ishino Remix)
  • Waiting For The Siren’s Call (Planet Funk Remix)
  • World (Brothers In Rhythm Mix)
  • World In Motion (No Alla Violenza Mix)

What are New Order’s least-best songs?

Not including demos or the Xmas Flexi, and rated less than 2.5 stars: MTO and Rock The Shack. Move along… nothing to see here.

Best Artwork?

lowlife

Best Gig?

Sydney Opera House 2016

Best Video Clip?

Regret

Best Autobiography (to date)?

Stephen’s

…at which point I feel the need to exercise some self control 

I very much welcome your feedback on all this, and thank you again for enduring my personal thoughts on New Order’s music. The response has been amazing – literally hundreds of thousands of visits over the years – so let’s hope there’s more to come, because I’m sure I’ll have more to say 😉

Cheers

Dennis Remmer
October 2019

headshot

 

 

18 thoughts on “End Here (?)

  1. I’ve enjoyed the ride very much – thanks for such a fun and interesting read.

    I’m not sure my Top 10 remains consistent, but it seems highly unlikely that Ceremony, Your Silent Face, The Perfect Kiss, Bizarre Love Triangle and Round & Round wouldn’t be in there 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This has been brilliant. I’d love an e-book version, but what would be even better would be for you to keep going with reviews of all the side projects and bands. Has to be five stars for Get The Message. You know you want to!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “…and now the music of New Order is part of my soul.”

    Beautifully put.

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – this insightful blog (including all the wonderful comments) has been a highlight for me of the last few years; something that I’ve kept returning to week after week, eager to read others’ opinions of the songs that changed my life.

    So, Dennis, THANK YOU! It has been a true pleasure to read.

    PS Top 10? Oh, go on then! 🙂
    In no particular order (although the top few are likely to always be included, with the others being potentially variable, given my mood).

    1) Temptation
    2) The Perfect Kiss
    3) Dream Attack
    4) Thieves Like Us
    5) Everything’s Gone Green
    6) Ceremony
    7) 1963
    8) Leave Me Alone
    9) Sunrise
    10) Vanishing Point

    Gah! There are too many others I want to include (Fine Time, Mr Disco, Age Of Consent, Elegia, 5-8-6, Chosen Time, bloody Blue Monday even 🙂 ).

    And just for completeness:

    Best single: True Faith / 1963 (honourable mention to the first three 7″s though)

    Best LP: Technique (although PC&L runs it a close second)

    Best cover: same answer as ‘Best LP’ above

    Best gig: Reading ’93 (my first NO gig)

    Best video clip: The Perfect Kiss

    Best autobiography: Stephen’s

    PPS The title of your next blog needs to be ‘Warsaw To Decades’. You know you want to! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Colin. Loved all your input mate. That’s a pretty decent top 10 as well. Sunrise, eh?
      Ask me again some time about doing another blog for JD. I’ll see where this one flies first. Also been suggested to do the ‘side projects’. Maybe… DR

      Liked by 1 person

  4. After reading this blog I often had a listen to the track in question. More often than not we agreed occasionally you changed my opinion (morning night and day has gone up massively in my opinion thanks to your review, but I still quite like MTO).
    So after your titanic effort it would be remiss if me to not offer my own top 10:
    Temptation
    Your silent face
    Leave me alone
    Thieves like us
    Bizarre love triangle
    Vanishing point
    Round & Round
    Regret
    Special
    Plastic

    Remixes:
    WFTSC planet Funk remix
    Blue Monday 88 (my gateway to NO)
    Round&Round 12″
    Here to stay extended instrumental
    BLT Richard X remix
    Krafty Morel’s pink noise vocal mix

    Album
    Power corruption & Technique
    (I just can’t split them!)

    Art work
    PLC

    Bio
    Stephen Morris

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I arrived well late to this, just before the Restless review was released. It helps give another perspective on a song than just what I think. I really appreciate the love for Music Complete and not just ‘the old classics’, as Music Complete was my first NO album to discover. I really considered doing my own version of this review site for a band i’m massively passionate about, Hot Chip, however it’s a mammoth task as I can see by the back log on this site.

    My Faves (no order):

    The Perfect Kiss
    Subculture
    BLT
    All Day Long
    Vanishing Point
    Someone Like You
    Here to Stay
    Turn
    Plastic
    Tutti Frutti

    Albums ranking:

    1. Low Life
    2. Technique
    3. Music Complete
    4. PC&L
    5.Get Ready
    6. WFTSC
    7. Brotherhood
    8. Movement
    9. Republic

    Best Remixes:
    BLT (Richard X)
    Superheated (Extended Mix 2)
    POTHL (Hybrid)
    Academic (Extended)
    The Game (Mark R)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A wonderful body of work. Thanks so much for the ride we have had over the last 3 years. I have always looked forward to your next review to uncover a fresh perspective of these great tunes. A side project (Electronic) review would be amazing!

    My top 10 in no particular order (although it changes by the day):

    All the Way
    Dream Attack
    Round & Round
    Bizarre Love Triangle (Canadian edit)
    Cries and Whispers
    Lonesome Tonight
    Sunrise
    Special
    In a Lonely Place
    Temptation

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is hard…pick your top 10, I’ve gone back though my own comments in my mind changed things, changed back to my original thoughts, changed again… you get the idea and after much thought I’ve decided on the following 10

    1. Your Silent Face
    2. Bizarre Love Triangle
    3. Round And Round
    4. Everything’s Gone Green
    5. Plastic
    6. Crystal
    7. Run
    8. Turn
    9. Singularity
    10. All Day Long

    Remixes: (In no particular order)

    Bizarre Love Triangle (Richard X Full Length)
    Round & Round (12″)
    Regret (New Order Mix)
    Here To Stay (Full Length Vocal)
    The Game (Mark Reeder Spielt Mit Version)
    Run 2

    Albums:

    1.Technique
    2. Power,Corruption & Lies and Music Complete (cannot split)
    4. Brotherhood
    5. Get Ready
    6. Republic
    7. WFTSC
    8. Low Life
    9. Movement
    10. Lost Sirens

    Live Album:

    Only one contender, ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) New Order + Liam Gillick: So it goes..

    Least Best Songs:

    Jetstream

    Video:

    Round & Round, honorable mention to BLT And Touched By The Hand Of God

    Best Artwork

    Fine Time

    I’m ashamed to say I’ve never seen the band live or read any of their autobiographies

    Finally I’d like thank Dennis for this blog, it has been a pleasure reading his reviews and everybody’s replies. I look forward to returning when the band release new music or Dennis decides to do the same with the side projects (Please).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. wow, my lists are so close to your’s, Dennis, there’s no point to my typing mine out, thought. A couple things I’d say here: Richard X over Pettibone for BLT? no way

    And, I think Rich Morel brought Krafty up from a 4 to a 5 and made it perfect. just sayin.

    as for this blog, sir, you already know my gratitude and reverence. I’ve stated it here more than once. I truly look forward to the ‘side project’ blog. !!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Always interesting to think about, and to hear other peoples’ take on it – here goes my two cents:

    First note: I am unable to pick a number 1. That is as it should be. However, within any top 10 of mine there will be a small aristocratic group of tracks of which I am 101% certain that they belong there. These are: Blue Monday, Bizarre Love Triangle, and Round and Round.

    What do these tracks have in common? At least two things: 1) they do not sound like anything else, and 2) one could present them to any band from the history of popular music from The Beatles to Kraftwerk and beyond, asking whether they have a better song in their catalog – and the answer would have to be no (equals are a different story).

    Then there are those which almost make it to my top-top group:

    Temptation (however: see below)
    All Day Long (needs to be played loud to realize just how good it is)
    Your Silent Face
    Vanishing Point
    Dream Attack
    The Perfect Kiss

    That is 8. For the last two, there are too many equally worthy options. Anyway, I have to make a choice, so:

    Everything’s Gone Green
    This Time Of Night

    So, in loosely hierarchical order:

    Blue Monday
    Round and Round
    Bizarre Love Triangle
    All Day Long
    Your Silent Face
    The Perfect Kiss
    Dream Attack
    Vanishing Point
    Everything’s Gone Green
    This Time Of Night

    One, including me, will notice the absence of Ceremony and True Faith. I will have to keep listening; maybe they will move to the very top one day.

    Second note: As I hear it, when NO hit it live, they frequently top their studio recordings by a margin. It is as if the real intention or potential of the composition is revealed. To my ears, even Temptation reaches peak imperfect perfection at Taras Shevchenko and bumps it up to the aristocratic group of tracks.
    If allowed to include live versions, I have a at least two new quite serious top 10 candidates:

    Ultraviolence (∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif)
    Sub-culture (Leuven 1985, Pumped Full Of Drugs and the “modern” arrangement (e.g. ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif)).

    Best album: Technique, in a tight race with PCL.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Dennis!

        I was wondering what you think about the live theme I mentioned? I really find it quite remarkable how good NO can be live.

        Just to elaborate a bit. Disorder followed by a very hard rocking Ultraviolence @ ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) – a strong sense of continuity is felt at the very moment when NO was supposed to stand fully on their own feet for the first time.

        Like

Leave a comment