Every Little Counts

Angel Dust < Every Little Counts > True Faith

I love this track. I love the humor in the song – its a twisted love song; although I can’t quite make out the target of Bernard’s affection: animal, vegetable or chemical. I love Bernard’s “cracking up” with laughter and I love that they kept this in the recording. I love the melodies and the swirling synths & strings. I love the slow build-up, the pause, and the huge wall of sound finale, and I love the “bumped needle” effect at the end; which I imagine like for so many others had me that first time lurching towards the turntable fearing a massive scratch on the vinyl*.

I love live footage of this song where Bernard chooses which of the band, and/or the audience (and vice versa), is currently whom he lovingly considers a pig and should be in a zoo. It’s telling…

Every Little Counts closes out side B of Brotherhood with aplomb, underlining this side of the album’s remarkable set of songs; some of the band’s best, and much more inventive, diverse and satisfying than the tracks on side A, which – although as I’ve said before are perfectly fine – seem a little lackluster in comparison. Just a little.

Having said that, Brotherhood is overall a wonderful New Order album and a stunningly packaged Factory artifact. It remains high on my list of New Order albums that gets played end-to-end, and is an album that for me book-ends an incredibly creative four years for the band: 1986 to 1989; probably my favorite period, although its likely that since this coincides with my final year at school and 3 years at Uni, its an obvious sweet spot for (being under the) influence.

* What a wonderfully subversive thing it would have been had Factory and the band managed to follow through and incorporate a different ‘defect’ on each media format; i.e the bump/scratch on the vinyl, a ‘chewed tape’ effect on the cassette editions, and of course digital glitches on the CDs. Mind you, it’s equally weird these days to have an analogue glitch sound when listening to a CD or MP3…

Rating: xxxxo

Available on: Brotherhood

7 thoughts on “Every Little Counts

  1. Your comment about it being weird having an analogue glitch while listening to CD or MP3 made me laugh – didn’t you hear the remastered albums that came out a few years back 🙂 Great blog really enjoy reading through this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Actually nearly did take the album back when I first heard this song, thinking it was defective… even though my copy was a CD. Brotherhood is probably my favourite NO album even though it’s not objectively their best in quality terms. Love the diversity of songs and the emotional core to it as well as the fact in consciously nods back to JD with Hooky’s bass so prominent. Agree with you that it’s under-rated. It’s a fine album in anyone’s eyes and even the more conventional guitar ones are miles ahead of much of Get Ready.

    Like

  3. The mysoginia in this song is amazing… In case you didn’t know, this song is directed towards bernard’s (now ex) wife Susan Barlow. Just like 99% of New Order and Electronic lyrics… Barney always had a toxic relationship with his ex. All this is on one of the Peter Hook’s books. I can’t believe how could he treat the person he loved like that. BTW here’s more of his ”love”:

    https://www.neworder.net/no/gigs/nogigs84.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment